Campfire Stories

This week I decided to do camping stories for storytime.  It’s still summer, and I figured camping is a good summer activity, and there are a lot of great books out there that have a hiking/camping/woods theme.

These are the ones I chose:

 

 

51hjfhal6UL

Sheep Take a Hike by Nancy Shaw- I love the sheep books.  They have a great rhythm and they are hilarious.  This one was no exception.

 

51ZhoRNKN0L._SX403_BO1,204,203,200_

Camp Rex by Molly Idle- I’ve mentioned Idle before.  This is one of the series of dinosaur books she has out (Tea Rex, Sea Rex).  The words are describing the proper things to do when one goes camping, but the images show the dinosaurs doing the opposite!  Adorable.

 

81WizbErE5L

Herman’s Vacation by Tom Percival- I really liked this book.  It had a few lift-the-flaps, adorable illustrations, and a great story about friendship (plus, I could really relate to how much Herman disliked camping).

5954253

Duck Tents by Lynne Berry- Really cute story about 5 little ducks to decide to go on a camping trip (in their own backyard).  Shelving this book actually gave me the idea to do a camping storytime.

 

61C0EeGryML._SX405_BO1,204,203,200_

Camping Day by Patricia Lakin- I thought this book was really cute, but having to repeat Sam, Pam, Will and Jill over and over again started to get on my nerves, and the kids really didn’t feel it, which is unfortunate because the story is really cute.

 

This week was kind of difficult, since it’s summer and apparently everyone is suddenly available to come to storytime.  I had over 25 kids (with parents!) so it was a little difficult to get to all the book I’d planned.  I had a few other titles I’ll list below:

 

As far as the craft went, all you need is orange and red construction for the hand-print “flames” and brown for the logs.  (Embellish with popsicle sticks adorned with cotton balls, and BOOM! marshmallows roasting over a campfire!)

13876106_10208453490109483_4856269660611041402_n

 

13781761_10208453490309488_1244286282683679238_n

(I always like to end my storytime by handing out coloring sheets that match whatever theme we have.)

P.S. Don’t forget, as I’ve mentioned before here, I always like to cut up my storytime with a little hand play that the kids absolutely love.

-Leala

Leave a Reply

