Lovely day for a picnic!

It’s summer, and I’m enjoying finding all kinds of fun summery books and themes to do for storytime!  This week, we read a few picnic stories, then crafted our own picnic baskets!

I just realized that I never mentioned the song and hand play I do, so I’ll start with that.

My opening song is:

“My hands say hello, (wave hands)
My hands say hello.
Every time I see my friends,
My hands say hello.

 
My feet say hello, (wave feet)
My feet say hello.
Every time I see my friends,
My feet say hello.”

After this verse, I usually ask a child to pick the next body part.  If they don’t say anything, I usually go with “bum” next, and we stand up and shake our rump.  I like to end it with “tongue”, since it’s hilarious to sing with our tongues sticking out.

Now onto the books!

51KuKrCfLYL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Click, Clack, Quackity-Quack! by Doreen Cronin- This is a simple story going through the alphabet, following the hijinks of the animals on the farm on their way to a picnic.

 

616X28CDP0L._SX387_BO1,204,203,200_

The Most Perfect Spot by Diane Goode- A cute story about a little boy and his mother who are just trying to find the perfect spot for a picnic, but every time they start to set up, something goes wrong.  Eventually, they find the perfect spot.

 

Now, usually at this point (2 or 3 books in) I do the hand play “Open, shut them.”

“Open, shut them (open and shut hands)
Open, shut them                              
Give a little clap, clap, clap.

Open, shut them
Open, shut them
Put them in your lap, lap, lap. (slap lap each time you say “lap”)

 Creep them crawl them, slowly creep them
Right up to your little chin, (creep hands up from lap to chin)
Open up your little mouth, (put fingers on jaw and open mouth)
but do not put them in! (put hands behind back)

Open, shut them.
Open, shut them, to your shoulders fly (place hands on shoulders)

Then like little birdies, let them flutter to the sky. (fingers wave to the sky)
Slowly falling, slowly falling slowly to the ground. (flutter fingers while moving towards floor) 

Put them back in your lap (quickly slap them back in your lap)Then spin them round and round! (slowly, slowly slowly-say this while going slowly…faster! faster! faster!-this usually gets a big giggle!!)”

 

Now, it’s back to books!

51RKZJF8F1L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

The Best Picnic Ever by Clare Jarrett- An adorable story of a very friendly little boy who asks all the animals to play and then join him for a picnic.

61CHoQq7p4L._SX387_BO1,204,203,200_

Picnic by Emily Arnold McCully- A cute story about a mouse family who wants to go enjoy a picnic, but Little Bitty (the tiniest mouse) gets thrown from the truck and becomes lost.  The family runs back to find her, but she won’t leave without her stuffed toy.  They find it, and finally get to enjoy the picnic together.

 

This week’s craft was something I threw together really quickly, but worked out perfectly.  I printed out a coloring sheet of picnic food, a clip art of a picnic basket, and grabbed some red construction paper.  Voila!  All it needed now was a few bug stickers!

13432406_10208135415557818_8049862495776540842_n

13466165_10208135416597844_1863728076878249106_n

Leave a Reply

