Paper Girls

I just finished reading the Young Adult graphic novel Paper Girls and I absolutely loved it.   I’m stoked for the next volume to come out.

This graphic novel is written by Brian K. Vaughan, who’s best known for the comics Y: The Last Man, Runaways (which is another great YA series) and Saga (definitely for adults).  In my opinion, Brian K. Vaughan is one of the best comic writers working right now.  Once I saw Paper Girls was written by him, I had to check it out.

The story follows a group of teenage paper girls as they make their rounds.  It’s late at night Halloween night, and the era is the 80’s.

Usually, each girl delivers to her own section of the neighborhood alone, but considering how dangerous it could be on Halloween, they meet up and deliver together.

At first, I thought this was going to be a coming of age, female empowerment kind of story, which it is in a way, but then comes time traveling spaceships, flying monsters, and what appears to be a war from the future involving teens vs adults that’s rippling through time.

Now, the war part has me raising an eyebrow…why would there be a war of teens vs adults?  The adults used to be teens, the teens will soon be adults…I just didn’t really get that part, but then again, this is only volume 1, and that whole story arc has only just been introduced.  I’m really curious to see how this plays out in upcoming volumes.  I may just have to go to the comic book store and grab the individual issues as they come just so I don’t have to wait for the publication of volume 2.

I would definitely recommend this graphic novel for older teens (13 and up), and its great for either boys or girls (as long as the boy isn’t deterred by the female main characters).

 

-Leala

Leave a Reply

