Carry On

Ok, so Carry On has been out for a while, but I’ve only just gotten the chance to read it, and boy am I glad I did.

I’ve been a fan of Rainbow Rowell ever since I read Eleanor and Park.  Rowell has a way of writing teenage angst and first loves in a way that really pulls on the heartstrings.  When I was reading Carry On, I found myself reliving my own teenage years, and remembering that feeling in your gut when you find your first love, or go through your first relationship.

All of those feelings were invoked again in this fantasy novel, but this time its for the love between two boys who thought of themselves as enemies for years until something “magical” happens and it brings them together.  I found myself smiling like a giant idiot when they finally have their first kiss.

This book is weird (and kind of “meta”) in that it’s sort of a continuation, or a spin-off, of the book Fangirl.

In Fangirl, the main character Cath is obsessed with a Harry Potter-esque fictional character named Simon Snow.  She’s so obsessed that she spends all of her free time writing fan fiction about Snow and his “evil” roommate Baz falling in love.  This is the book Cath was writing in that book (see…totally meta).

I really loved this book, and I really recommend it for anyone who likes fantasy, teen angst, and beautifully written romance.

Also, you may find yourself craving sour cherry scones while reading this,  I know I did. Right from the beginning Simon Snow spends a good amount of time describing his favorite food served at Watford School of Magicks, and his description made my mouth water like crazy, so I went a-googling and found a few recipes, but this one seemed to be the simplest, plus I already had a bag of dried cherries laying around.  It was fate!

 

 

-Leala

 

Leave a Reply

